Naiman Nuur/ The Eight lakes

Naiman Nuur National Park is located in Uyanga and Batulzii sum, Uvurkhangai province.

The surrounding area was formed as a result of volcanic eruption centuries ago. The park is 2400m above the sea level. An area of 11.500 hectares has been protected as a National Park since 1992.

The eight lakes consist of Shireet,  Khaliut, Bugat, Khaya, Khuis, Shanaa, Doroo and Bayan Uul, all interconnected through underground water panel.

The national park is located in a high mountains area comprising alpine meadows and forests of Siberian pines and larches. 

This area  is usually cool and can get snow in August. In summer, the temperature is around 20-23 degrees in Celsius. 400 to 500 millimetres (16 – 32 inches) of rain fall each year. The national park is a great place for birdwatching:  mandarin duck, steppe buzzard, black-throated loon, great cormorant, bar-headed goose, and whooper swan.

Related tours

The Gobi & Eight Lakes Tour
Divine Central Mongolia Tour
All central Mongolia Tour
Show More
Call us to book
Find us

Apt 48A-22, Tokyo street, 3rd khoroo, Bayanzurkh district, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Email us


  • Trip Advisor Social Icon
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Google+ Long Shadow

©2020  Magnificent Mongolia